Sunday, March 22, 2009
We got the grand slam!
We've done it! We've won the Grand Slam for the first time in 61 years. It was the most nail-biting match I've watched in a while. It was so close that the result was actually down to the very last kick of the match, which was a penalty awarded* against Ireland. Thankfully Wales missed it and sealed Irelands victory.
Go on the green!
* The ref made a bad call here and awarded a penalty against Ireland because the ball bounced forward after it was dropped. The rule are pretty clear that this should be a scrum and *not* a penalty. It wasn't the first time he made that mistake either. Still, it didn't matter in the end, woo!
Update: A friend just told me that the ref originally signalled a scrum but then changed it to a penalty. Sounds like an irish guy mouthed off or did something off the ball. Did anyone notice what actually made him change his mind?